Broken Bay Writers – Stories of NSW Central Coast and beyond

Scribbles on life, the universe and everything… Woy Woy, Ettalong, Umina and teh Central Coast that is!

I love the Stormy Nights.


I fully expected the weather here in Australia to be very different from Canada, mainly the copious amounts of sunny days, but I was surprised by the amount of stormy nights. My partner calls them “crackers”.

We are lucky enough to overlook Broken Bay. This allows us the luxury of watching the storm make it’s way across the water before it hits. The lightening fills the sky from all around us. On the one side, It makes it’s way across the water, on the other side it sidles over the hill. Sometimes the lightening streaks right across the sky as far as the eye can see. Breathtaking! The thunder follows (or is it the other way around) with a slow roll working it’s way up to an angry roar. The earth shakes under the violent angry sky.

In our house, there is a rush to unplug the computers, turn off the lights, make a drink and then settle in to watch the show. If the rain has not yet come, we will cuddle up on the deck in order to not only watch the show, but feel the electricity in the air. Knowing all along, that when the storm reaches us, we will have to move this party inside.

When the rain comes, it comes down by the “bucket full.” I love to stand out in the rain getting that immediate “soaked” feeling. The air is warm, yet often hail will follow a thunderstorm. I find this very odd! In British Columbia I am used to cold hail that coats the ground and makes the world icy and white. Here in Australia it is so warm that the hail melts as soon as it hits the ground.

These storms are very spectacular at night when darkness forms the backdrop for the angry lightening streaking across the sky, but these storms happen during the day too. In the daylight hours, I revel in watching Australians running with papers over their head trying to stay dry. Last week I even saw a person running along with a plant pot over her head. I find this hard to understand because the rain is warm; it’s like having a bath.

When the rain stops, the sun comes back out and minutes later you may see a few puddles or rivers running in the ditch, but for the most part the sun has done it’s job and the ground is dry.

Australia is a land of extremes. This is well known. I did not know that the weather would be so extreme from one minute to the next. It can be 35 degrees out. I watch the wind turn to a “southerly” and then watch the thermometer drop. In less than an hour it can be 20 degrees. This extreme difference in temperature is part of what helps create “the perfect storm”.

I have yet to capture a photo of the lightening as it illuminates the sky, I don’t think I have the right camera for it, but I would sure love to. I guess I will just have to replay the storms in my memory… until I see the next one working it’s way across Broken Bay!

3 responses to “I love the Stormy Nights.

  1. Anonymous March 3, 2009 at 5:18 am

    Don’t you know you are not suppose to stand outside in the rain in an electrical storm, it sounds fascinating though maybe one day i will get to experience your stormy night…

  2. Shane March 3, 2009 at 6:25 am

    Wow you live there! I am absolutely thrilled for you.

    p.s. I am living in the Arctic right now so it is the exact opposite. I even wear a 30 pound parka to work every day.

  3. jackie March 6, 2009 at 9:07 pm

    I know where I’d be when the storms hit! In my bed with the blankets over my head!! Lightning makes me feel like God is angry.

Leave a Reply

