Broken Bay Writers – Stories of NSW Central Coast and beyond

Scribbles on life, the universe and everything… Woy Woy, Ettalong, Umina and teh Central Coast that is!

You can’t escape!


Here comes the fat alien, the one with the mean eyes. He flashes past, all in white. He is after someone, not me this time. Evil bastard! I stare straight ahead; they give us pills that make our necks stiff. It is difficult see staring straight ahead. We are waiting for a chance to escape, someone will come to help, no one has yet… but they will! The television drones away, can’t hear it properly and it seems fuzzy. Have another smoke… watch the telly… just stay calm and wait.

Looks like smiley, the tall thin alien with the evil smirk. What is that screaming? They must be torturing Ryan, it sounds like him. Bastards! There goes Dean, now he scares the shit out of me! Category one, constantly watched by the aliens, they must be scared of him too.

God! Got to escape… got to get out! They’ve had me imprisoned here for months. Strangely though, it sometimes seems safer here than the outside world. They must give me pills to make me feel that way, so I won’t try to escape… but I will!

The other prisoners scare me, they steal my stuff, they hurt me, and they are rude. They sometimes make me have sex, so do the aliens. I just lie there, don’t make a fuss. They just jump on me and then go, don’t really feel it anymore.

Can’t run or hide, just have to stay calm. I don’t think they can see me in this dim room. From the corner of my eyes I can just see the woman sitting across the room. She is called Angel. She has little burn marks all over her upper body and both legs have been cut off. She jumped in front of a train, she was trying to escape the aliens. They said she was just trying to kill herself, they must think we’re stupid.

I can see the music system they want so much. Dad bought it for me, they took it and killed him for it. Killed Mum too. Pricks! I might be next, stay still as possible and they don’t see you, that’s how you survive. I think they killed my daughter too. Can’t get emotional, just stay numb.

Here comes another alien through the door, it’s Jimmy all in white, he won’t hurt me. He is one of them but he is more gentle that the rest. I asked him to help me escape once, I thought he might kill me for asking but I had to try. He just said I was better off in here and would be OK eventually. Bullshit! In the end, he is one of them. Arsehole!

He is coming straight at me. He is talking, using the special talk that you can’t understand. It sounds really slow and drawn out. He talks again, louder. He says Dave is here. Dave? Who the fuck is Dave? He says it is Dave, your boyfriend. Dave! He can save me, he is a member of a group of men who fight these bad bastards, they ride motorcycles, like knights or something. I knew he would come.

I stay cool, don’t want to make a mistake when freedom is so close. I follow Jimmy, shuffling in the way they expect us prisoners to. I don’t look sideways, just look at Jimmy’s back. Other prisoners pass, they too conform to the shuffle and the dull eyed look. Dave will save you all, Dave is here, he will have reinforcements nearby. Freedom is so close. We will all live in a big house and have lots of cats.

Dave is filling in a form and showing his ID, forged of course, he is experienced in combat and knows this stuff. This rescue will be well planned, it will be a push over for him. He looks very relaxed, they suspect nothing.

I wait until we are in the garden to give Dave a big hug and a kiss. We sit down, light a smoke. Dave acts casual, he asks how I’m going. I tell him I’m so glad to see him. I ask him why it has taken him months to find this place. He says I was only brought here two days ago, he must have lost it. Have they drugged him too? Fuck these aliens are tricky, sit tight.

I whisper to him Mum and Dad are dead, they killed them for the stereo. Dave says he saw them on the way over and they are fine. He is just trying to keep me calm until the escape plan starts, he’s good! They killed my baby, Jenny. He says Jenny is fine. Dave is so cool in these situations, he’s fucken good! The birds are singing, the garden is beautiful, peaceful. Seems a shame to have to go.

Dave has his leather vest, gloves and helmet, he is ready for them. His chrome machine is waiting patiently in the car park. I ask him where the rest of the gang are. He says they are coming and touches his nose with his forefinger.

Look, there is Ray! Dave looks towards a thin fellow in a German WWII great coat. Dave nods. We have to rescue Ray also, he is my boyfriend. Dave nods. He is a brain surgeon, they gave him pills and put all those horrible tattoos on him, they look like jail ‘tats’. Ray comes over and bludges a smoke, I light one with him. I whisper to him that we are escaping and that the aliens killed my family. He wanders off.

Dave is quiet now, seems to be soaking in the sun. The aliens patrol the grounds, they smile as Dave talks to them. Little do they suspect Dave’s plan. Hi Jake! I tell Dave about how Jake is my boyfriend. He greets Jake. I look at Jake, he is very attractive, we are taking him with us. He looks so young.

I feel so horny. I’m not supposed to, they have pills for that. Here comes one of the aliens, it’s bitch face. She has more pills. Shit! I hope Dave does not take them! She sits near me. Fuck! Panic! I don’t look at her. Dave makes her laugh… shit she is dangerous, I hope Dave knows what he is doing. I see Jake walking away, he is trying to avoid her.

She gives me pills, I know I have to take them to avoid any suspicion. The usual load. There are different colours and some big ones. I try to hold them under my tongue but there are too many.

Bitch face goes. I tell Dave we should have sex. He smiles and talks about the flowers in the garden. He is staying focused, ready to go into action.

Nana Anna is screaming. She abuses someone for drinking coffee, lectures them on their health at the top of her voice. The fat alien talks to her, threatens to kill her I think. Nana Anna walks away lighting a smoke with the one she just finished. She screams back at the alien, she tells him to fuck himself. I can’t help smiling.

Big Pete goes by, he is so tall and strong. They have given him a lot of the pills, he does not even wave when I see him. I love him though. I tell Dave I love him, he is my boyfriend. Dave comments that he would hate to be around if Pete lost it. I think Dave can see Pete is a good man too, by the way he is staring at him.

I tell Dave, Mum and Dad have been murdered, I think the aliens did it. He says they are OK. I know he is just saying that. The sun is so warm and I feel a little sleepy. I love this garden. I light a smoke…

We are going to the therapy room. I look around the room, I think about the decoupage table I started to do. Some prick has fucked it all up. Dave is listening to Jake playing the piano, Jake plays beautiful classical music. As Dave relaxes, Jake suddenly starts to bang the keys hard with a wild look in his eyes, his hair hanging over his face. The aliens run over, I clap and laugh, I love Jake. The aliens look at me, shit have I blown it?

I show Dave the pottery room, there is no one else in here now. I slide my hand in Dave’s jeans, I tell him to fuck me. He gives me a kiss on the cheek and says we can’t. Impotent bastard! I know, the escape… I’m getting impatient now. I’m really tired. It feels like my eyes are resting on my cheeks.

I hear a distant rumble, Dave’s mates are riding in. Fear and panic rise inside me. I don’t know if I can go through with it. I should go to my room and hide. I tell Dave I’m scared of the escape. He smiles. Does anything worry him? Shit he is so brave.

The rumble is very loud now. I call Dave and Jake, now is the time. Go! I run back to the garden to meet the rescuers. I yell to Ray, Nana Anna, Jake, Pete and some other friends. Follow me! We are saved! Come to me! Run, run, run.

They mill around me. Where is Dave? For Christ’s sake, where is he. Has he been taken? Have they made him take the pills? Bitch face might be making him have sex. The rumble is around the corner. I run to the gate.  An alien is grabbing me and I bite him. Don’t fuck me I scream at him. Dave’s gonna kill you bastards!

I turn and see Dave is looking and I call him. Bitch face is trying to stop me going through the gate. I look for the gang, Dave’s heroic mates. A large truck comes round the corner. More aliens, bloody reinforcements. I scream and struggle. An alien seems to be stabbing me with something sharp, trying to give me AIDS. I struggle… I… I…

Here comes the fat alien, the one with the mean eyes. He flashes past, all in white. He is after someone, not me this time. I stare straight ahead, they give us pills that stop ours necks from turning. I’m waiting for a chance to escape, someone will come, no one has yet. The television drones away, I cannot hear it properly and it seems fuzzy. I light another smoke, watch the telly and wait.

Leave a Reply

