Broken Bay Writers – Stories of NSW Central Coast and beyond

Scribbles on life, the universe and everything… Woy Woy, Ettalong, Umina and teh Central Coast that is!

Have a Nice Trip?


I have, in fact, had many trips and falls and bumps and bruises. I have had so many “little” accidents (and a big one) that my family and friends have coined the phrase “pulling a Judy” for when someone hurts themselves. Even my own daughter called me one day to say that she had “pulled a Mom”. It turns out she had cut herself on a very sharp object and required stitches in her thumb!

I actually don’t think I am deserving of this “tag”. Okay, I have had a few concussions, but in my defense I was doing things that potentially cause concussions like playing slo-pitch or snow boarding. Yes, there was the time when the BIG sign fell on my head and gave me concussion, but that could have happened to anybody. Okay, it’s true I have had more than one sign fall on my head, but I didn’t put these signs up, I was certainly there when they came down though. I put it down to being in the wrong place at the wrong time.

I have accidentally knocked a glass shelf over in a store (it had glass objects on it) and I have fallen down a flight of stairs twice, but does that make me the ultimate klutz? Okay, I did hit a tree while skiing and I have chopped my finger with an axe, but some of the slo-pitch injuries were not my fault. Yes, there has been more than one slo-pitch injury and not all of them were on the field. What do you do when someone throws the ball at you and you are not wearing a glove? Okay, I guess I shouldn’t have put my hand up, but it was a natural reaction. Other incidents in slo-pitch include getting hit on the side of the head with the ball by one of my own team mates when I was walking to my base, being pulled over backwards when sitting on my chair at the ball dance and being put over someones shoulder, but he forgets to keep hold of me and drops me on my head! This was all done by the same person, yes Mark, you know who you are.

Breaking my toe happened one of the times I fell down stairs. Apparently one should not wear dark sunglasses when navigating a dark staircase! The car accident? Being that I was the passenger and was asleep I think I was in the wrong place at the wrong time again. Okay, trying to teach an Australian how to ice skate on the top of Grouse Mountain when it is snowing was not one of my best moves. There may have been some over confidence going on there when I was walking along on my skates, fell and broke my wrist in 4 places.

Some people will tell you that I don’t pay attention or don’t “watch” what I am doing that causes me to have to many accidents, but I like to think that it is more my “free spirit” personality.

I know what you are thinking, being accident prone is not a good thing, but that’s not necessarily true. I just read a quote by Charles Kettering that states “The faster you go, the more chance there is of stubbing your toe, but the more chances you have of getting somewhere”. So you see, I may be accident prone, but I am going somewhere, yes siree I am and I don’t just mean to the hospital!

2 responses to “Have a Nice Trip?

  1. Alan Brooks April 15, 2009 at 5:50 am

    There seems to be a singular omission in this blog… Tequila!!!

  2. Judy Clark April 15, 2009 at 6:35 am

    I am not sure I want to share any of my Tequila stories with the world!

Leave a Reply

