Broken Bay Writers – Stories of NSW Central Coast and beyond

Scribbles on life, the universe and everything… Woy Woy, Ettalong, Umina and teh Central Coast that is!

Fat boy torture!


Cruel and unreasonable punishment… well, torture anyway…

My colleague at work had her last day at work before going off to have a baby. The company pays for a lunch. Location is a beer cafe in Sydney I have been dying to try… perfect! Almost! I am on the Optifast diet in preparation for LAP BAND™ surgery. I get a shake, a bar and a soup (with a small serve of non-starch vegies) and that is my day food wise.

My workmates offer to go somewhere else. No way! I can take it… easy said!

The server gives us the menus, it all looks yummy. I zoom in on the beer menu, this is a brew pub with a serious reputation. Beers all round except for the pregnant person and my good self… sparkling mineral water… no slice! They order up. The server looks at me and I tell her I am not eating, I am a spectator. She looks confused.

I try to change the subject from food. They ask me how my preparation is going so we do food again! Bum! I point out how many food advertisements there are on TV. I begin to salivate!

The drinks come and the beers look good… I love red beer and they have it here. I throw back a swig of mineral water, exhibiting that “devil may care” nonchalance of a tea totaler! I have this gig under control…

… then the food came…

I bit hard into the Optifast bar. They taste great, but I suspect the medium lamb on couscous was better. The bread with dips seemed a little hard to avoid eye contact with also. 

I have the big picture in mind, the ultimate goal – to weigh about half of what I am now. I am not going to let temptation beat me but it is bloody tough. I will be in Port Moresby in a week, I will have to pack the Optifast and stay away from the local cuisine… I will do it, I will survive.

I wished my colleague all the best for the birth, I won’t see her for a few months. I suggested confidently that we will both be smaller next time we meet. That was one of the hardest eating things I have done. It is hard to be social and be on such a restricted diet. The prize is worth it!!!

2 responses to “Fat boy torture!

  1. Pingback: Fat boy torture!

  2. Pingback: Fat boy torture! | Health @ U Want 2 Know .Info

Leave a Reply

