Broken Bay Writers – Stories of NSW Central Coast and beyond

Scribbles on life, the universe and everything… Woy Woy, Ettalong, Umina and teh Central Coast that is!

Purple Patch.


Wow! What a pleasant surprise!!!

After the first 10 days of Optifast meals, I have reached a point of NOT being terrorised by hunger pangs. My doctor has prescribed a month of Optimax to prepare for surgery. The lose of weight will mean better blood pressure (mine has always been “normal” – how mediocre 🙂 and a healthy liver (which has to be lifted for the procedure).

The first 10 days were torture. Watching family and friends devouring wonderful meals, noticing how much food advertising appears on TV (and I watch very little TV) and being consumed with food and the desire to eat. I was low on energy, had headaches and other symptoms designed to make me eat. I toughed it out and now I’m feeling good!

Next week I go from 3 to 2 meals of Optifast a day. I was dreading this but I actually feel ready for it. The weight seems to be falling off now.

I’m feeling great, no pain right now. A spring in the old step and very motivated. Great support from family and friends, especially Kitty!

I can’t wait for Friday morning weigh in – reward time!!!

3 responses to “Purple Patch.

  1. Lori April 29, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    Way to go!!!!!!!!! I am not sure I am for the Lap Band thing but I am sure you have researched it and know your self… I know you said that you have tried so many things…

    How much do you think you might have lost just by the optimax things?

    I dont know you but Judy is an old friend of mine… so by connection I would like to wish you the best!!!!!!!!!

    Lori from Kelowna

  2. Alan Brooks April 29, 2009 at 10:36 pm

    Hi Lori – We have met now, albeit in a virtual sense 🙂 Thanks for the best wishes, they are much appreciated! Lap Band is not for everyone, you have to have a BMI above 35 and have tried to lose weight for five years or more. I have not always been big but have struggled with it most of my adult life.

    Optifast works very well if you stick to it. It is about 600 calories a day so it ain’t much 😦 You also can only stay on it for three months. That is my risk area, I can lose the weight, then put it back on 😦 However, the weigh loss is rapid. I lost 12 pounds in the first week, I will find out about week two tomorrow.

    Good luck, I hope we meet some day!
    Best,
    Al

  3. Gail Green May 1, 2009 at 4:06 am

    Hi Al – well done & congratulations for getting this far. One of my friends had it done a couple of years ago and she lost 35kg in a couple of months. She has settled back to an ‘average’ weight – but it was the best thing she ever did – but does take some courage. WAY TO GO!! See you at dinner tomorrow night – you will be the one with the Steamed Vegies!! Gail x

Leave a Reply

