Broken Bay Writers – Stories of NSW Central Coast and beyond

Scribbles on life, the universe and everything… Woy Woy, Ettalong, Umina and teh Central Coast that is!

Self inflicted lamb lust!


I have one of those personalities that can rigidly stick to anything – for a very short time! To achieve this state I need three things: I must totally believe in what I am doing; I have to really want it; It has to have a clear end date.

That is why I can’t lose weight long term!

That is why I am going for a dog collar on my stomach! Woof!

I have been on the Optifast thing for 19 days now but whos’ counting?! ME!!!

I have lost 20.2 pounds (believe me, the 0.2 counts 🙂 and I have so much energy my partner is starting to hide from me. At least I’m not stealing her choc late any more. My clothes are getting looser, I feel in control with food (because I don’t get any) and I have not had the bad moods I expected. The first 10 days was all headaches and hunger but that is long gone.

On Sunday we had two very old friends over for lunch. I slow cooked a leg of lamb on my barbie (barbie-Q that is, not the cheesy doll or Klaus type barbie). Now, this is where the torture is self inflicted. Kitty was quite happy to throw together one of her amazing lasagnas. This would be equally mouth watering to me but at least I would not have spent five hours lovingly preparing, basting and carving it.

Now I am sitting with Kitty, my two sons and two old friends, gazing across the impossibly beautiful Broken Bay. I am chatting away affably as I sip my Optifast soup. They devoured the lamb along with Kitty’s fabulous Greek salad and the eggplant that I had grilled on said barbie and lavished with Greek yogurt and cucumber.

Tragically, there was lamb leftovers!!!

Did I lust after the lamb? Was it self inflicted? I know you know the answer… slimming better be bloody worth it!!!

I know it will, it is already better. If I did not believe it, I would not be able to stay on Optifast for two consecutive days, let alone nearly five weeks.

Bring on the dog collar!!! Woof!!!

3 responses to “Self inflicted lamb lust!

  1. Nic May 4, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    Good for you Al… you definitely have more will power than I do – there’s no way I could cook a dinner and not eat it. Keep up the good work.
    Nic

  2. Alan Brooks May 4, 2009 at 10:50 pm

    Hey Nic,

    Thanks for the encouragement! I had to decide to give up my social life for a while or face the torture… it would be a double wammy to give up hanging out, dinner parties etc! I hope things are going great for you guys!

    Al

  3. Kayt May 5, 2009 at 9:12 am

    A little less of the OLD thank you, and yes the lamb was a melting moment and perfectly prepared and tasted all the better because it was shared with OLD friends and of course there was more for us ’cause you were eating chicken soup instead. K8

Leave a Reply

