Broken Bay Writers – Stories of NSW Central Coast and beyond

Scribbles on life, the universe and everything… Woy Woy, Ettalong, Umina and teh Central Coast that is!

Lap Band Surgery aftermath… prepare for an ugly sight…


…not the operation incisions, I mean the ugly belly!!!

It has been 2 weeks since I “went under the knife”. Dr Caska did a great job and was glowing in his praise for my preparation. He says obese men are the hardest to operate on for Lap Band placement. He requires a very strict Optifast regime to make my liver “manageable” for the procedure.  I had a BMI >50 so he laid down the law. Two weeks of 3 Optifast meals per day, followed by two weeks of 2 Optifast meals a day. I was allowed a cup of steamed vegies from a list each night. No booze!!! Surely this treatment is banned under the Geneva Convention? I guess the loophole is, the Geneva Convention only pertains to the treatment of prisoners of war 🙂

I did such a great job that Dr Caska put 3 mls of saline in my Lap Band during the operation. I had lost >20kg (45 lbs) on the Optifast in 4 weeks so my stomach had shrunk. My BMI was <45 after that month, my heart, pulse and blood pressure perfect and my Cholesterol was down to 4.4. I guess the Optifast does the trick! Their Chicken Soup was my saviour!

I am now healing very well. The first week I had some nasty times with gas, gout and constipation. All is well now, especially with some help from flax seed and metamusil. I am amazed how quick he scars heal up. 

I suspect the band needs adjustment already (2 week mark) as I have much of my hunger back. I am restricted in how much I eat in a meal, but with the hunger, you tend to pick in between. I have an appointment for a Lap Band adjustment in 2 weeks so I will just have to behave. The adjustment means they jab a respectably large needle into my abdomen. It does not hurt any more than giving blood.

I am on solid foods… no problem so far. I had a glass of red last night and was swinging off the chandeliers – and we only have down lights!

So, here is the picture you have been waiting for, feel free to adopt it as your computer screen background and for your family Christmas card!

 

Al's belly showing the 5 incisions for Lap Band Surgery!

Al's belly showing the 5 incisions for Lap Band Surgery!

 

Note: The plastic is the waterproof “bandages” – they came off after 12 days – piece of cake! Only the big cut had a couple of stitches. Try to control yourselves over that hairy chest 🙂

 

8 responses to “Lap Band Surgery aftermath… prepare for an ugly sight…

  1. Peter Hill June 9, 2009 at 5:27 am

    Way to go Al, proud of you mate. Looking forward to seeing a whole lot less of you when you visit later this summer – when are you going to be in town?

    Golf season is off to a flying start and I’ve made it through to the semi’s in the McClerry Match play comp – the lads oftern ask after the big Australian.

    Say g’day to Judy and the boys.

    Cheers

    Pete

  2. Alan Brooks June 9, 2009 at 6:50 am

    Thanks for the support Pete!

    Congrats on your golf stuff, you must be in single figures now 🙂

    We will be in Vancouver for a short few days. I will email you directly.

    Hi to Deb, Judy says hi!!!

    Cheers!
    Al

  3. Jil June 13, 2009 at 2:20 am

    Hi. I just stumbled upon your site while i was looking for lapband blogs. let me say congratulations on your surgery! 45lbs lost during optifast, that’s amazing. I’m just over a week into my pre-op diet and I’ve lost 15lbs myself. It’s quite the miracle isn’t it? I hope you’re doing well and I’ll be checking in now and then to read more of your adventures 🙂

    See ya,
    Jil

  4. Alan Brooks June 13, 2009 at 3:28 am

    Hi Jil,

    Thanks for the support and I wish you the best with your surgery. Although you have to make some adjustments, the whole thing goes pretty smoothly. There are so many Lap Band operations they have it down to a fine art. 15lbs in just over a week… WOW!!! Great job!!! It feels great even to lose that much. Find something that weighs 15lbs and pick it up, it is a lot of weight. Good luck and let me know how it goes for you.

    Cheers!
    Al

  5. Pingback: Scars and a very serious muffin top! « Broken Bay Writers

  6. Adelina Navarro October 28, 2009 at 1:55 am

    I am a 30yr. old women who is thinking about this procedure but I am scared. what advise would you give me? I am 5’1 and weight 219 pounds.

  7. Alan Brooks October 28, 2009 at 8:13 am

    Hi Adelina,

    The decision to have surgery is always a very personal one. This proceedure carries a low risk of serious complication or death… but it can happen! For me, the health risk of being overweight outweighed these risks. You should talk to your doctor about these risks to make your decision. For me, it all went great… not so for everyone!

    Good luck and take care, I would love to hear what you decide and how it all goes!
    Al

  8. Theresa Even February 8, 2011 at 8:37 am

    wow- congrads… I am on my 4th week of Lap Surgery. I have lost a total of 19 lbs since Jan 4th. I have to go see Dr. Rantis on the 14 of Feb for a fill if needed. Is it painful? I also was wondering is anyone taking flaxseed? I know you can not take anti-inflamatories, is this the same as Advil? Says it’s for great health issues BUT HELPS WITH INFLAMATION IN THE INTESTIONS….????
    kEEP ME POSTED!

Leave a Reply

