Broken Bay Writers – Stories of NSW Central Coast and beyond

Scribbles on life, the universe and everything… Woy Woy, Ettalong, Umina and teh Central Coast that is!

Share your Lap Band experience with me!


I am writing about my Lap Band and obesity journey. I would love to hear any experiences that you may have. It does not matter if you are thinking about a band, have one or would not have one. If you are a friend of partner of an obese person, I would love to hear you story also. Please make comments here or email me at bigaloz@gmail.com. Everybody has a story and I would love to hear it!!!

5 responses to “Share your Lap Band experience with me!

  1. Nic June 21, 2009 at 7:57 pm

    Al,
    I am finding both your blogs and Judy’s blogs incredibly inspirational. The courage and determination that flows from your words and the loving support that flows from Judy is just something else. Keep up the work …both the dieting and the blogging.

    Sending a big cyber hug your way
    Nic

    P.S… I think I am gaining the weight that you are loosing! Hopefully it’s mostly baby – but it sure is hard work carrying these extra pounds around.

  2. Weight loss program -er June 22, 2009 at 11:29 am

    Sorry if i’m writing nonsense- not my intention,but i have a lot of experience with weight issues and bottom line is-simplest answer is usually the best one-enjoy life and your weight won’t be issue to think about anymore.

    I started to enjoy life-set new goals that i really enjoy in achieving,learn lengagues(spanish),fitness-but not must-don’t want to get stressed,cut on tv,more “loving”with my wife etc…and i’m melting down!

  3. Trixie July 8, 2009 at 6:22 am

    Hi Al,

    I found your blog while I was searching for weight loss pics of people with a lap band. Came accross your belly pic. eh heh. Good for you for posting that – -I was curious about what the incisions would look like.

    I am in the process of getting a lap band. I’ve gone through the orientation and physical. Tomorrow I meet with the psychologist and the surgeon. I’m feeling pretty good about my decision (and myself) and am already starting to make better food choices. What an amazing journey this will be!

    I started reading through your posts and Judy’s you guys sound like a neat couple! I firmly second Judy’s feelings on moving to Australia (we live in Michigan USA). My husband and I love watching nature shows and many of them are in Australia and while your country looks so beautiful, we are both leary of the GIGANTIC poisenous insects, snakes and what-ever-else you have over there. We always joke that we like living where the temp goes so low below freezing in the winter so all the bugs die. They don’t just keep getting bigger and bigger so they fill up your whole palm!

    Take Care to both of you,

    Trixie

  4. Alan Brooks July 8, 2009 at 9:20 am

    Hi Trixie!

    Thanks for your kind words and great feedback. I love to hear other peoples stories. Good luck with the proceedure and please come back and tell us how you are doing.

    Best,
    Al

  5. sharon July 22, 2009 at 8:30 pm

    Hi everyone I was wondering if there was anyone from Busselton, Western Australia in the 50ish age group who had recently been banded. I was banded 2 weeks ago and would really like to be able to chat to someone going through the same experience. I’m also fairly new to Australia having moved here 3 years ago.

Leave a Reply

