Broken Bay Writers – Stories of NSW Central Coast and beyond

Scribbles on life, the universe and everything… Woy Woy, Ettalong, Umina and teh Central Coast that is!

Do I trust her or not?


Touched down at 9 p.m. in Perth. I was tired because of the 3 hour time difference. My internal clock was telling me it’s midnight. Al was waiting for me at the airport. He arrived about 45 minutes before me as he flew in from Melbourne.

We picked up the rental car and hit the road with the trusty little GPS. Immediately there was controversy. The GPS told us to go one way, when the signs clearly told us to go another. Who to believe? We went with the signs. Poor old GPS wasn’t happy and started complaining. In fact at one point she had us off the road, driving into an abyss! About half way to Perth city centre (10 minutes into our drive), crazy GPS lady picked up the scent and started telling us the proper way.  She took us right to the hotel front door! The problem with GPS in Australia is when do you trust her?

I feel for people coming from Europe and North America where GPS works so well. They would have such a false sense of security. There must be an awful lot of very lost tourists wandering around Oz!

Our hotel is nice, but not that nice for the price. At over $300. each night, I expect a kiss goodnight from front desk! Didn’t get one though, Al’s goodnight kiss would have to do!

I had a leisurely morning while Al went off early to set up his booth in the trade show. I finally ventured outside to see what Perth city centre has to offer. Shopping, copious amounts of outdoor mall shopping. I spent most of the day wandering around the shopping streets yet I barely touched the surface of shopping in Perth!

Our second night we went out for dinner. We chose a Korean Barbeque because I have never experienced one before. Each table has a little hibachi type barbeque built into the middle of it. When you order, they bring out hot coals and put it into your personal barbeque pit! I felt like I was camping! They then bring raw meat and an array of different sauces, as well as rice and miso soup. It was delicious. A slow meal, kind of like fonduing because you have to wait for each piece of meat to cook. Loved it though.  If you ever see a Korean barbeque restaurant, give it a try.

We went back to the hotel and went for a swim in their outdoor heated pool. It was my kind of pool because it hovers around 100 degrees fahrenheit (37C). Kind of like swimming in a cool hot tub. I could have spent all night in there, but we rotated between the pool and the sauna. And then, to our delight a fireworks show started somewhere on the waterfront which is quite close to the hotel. So, we floated in the pool and watched what felt like our own personal fireworks show above us.  How cool is that?

It is now 6 am and I am here writing this blog because I can’t sleep. I do struggle with time changes. My dam internal clock was telling me 9 a.m., time to get up!

Can’t wait to see what today brings. We are hoping to get a chance to go to the beach as they are shutting the trade show down for a couple of hours in the middle of the day. That is, assuming we can trust the GPS to find the Indian ocean. Then it is back to work for Al while Judy plays!

Di I trust her?… I had better shop for a map!

One response to “Do I trust her or not?

  1. Alan Brooks October 13, 2009 at 3:53 pm

    Ironically, the name Hertz gives their GPS product is “Neverlost” – should be “MostlyLost”. The units can be correct most of the time – so you get lulled into a false sense of security.

Leave a Reply

